Mathematics and Natural Science

Our primary goal is to inspire boys and girls alike through mathematics and science and to develop their confidence within these areas without creating aversion towards these subjects, which are traditionally seen as complex. We therefore choose the method of addressing everyday questions from the pupils and answer them in a practical, experimental manner. Our main focus is on the important future topics of nature, ecology, environmental protection, environmental technology, nutrition, economical use of energy and resources, renewable energies and sustainable management.

In special clubs, at competitions, project days, at our school events, on class trips and in our Work & Travel program, we take up mathematical-natural-scientific topics and contents – in all class levels. Our subject rooms, the workshop and many excursions outside of the school grounds offer stimulating learning environments for practical and practice-oriented learning.

Schülerinnen und Schüler beim Experimentieren

Our students learn how to use the computer in a natural way in the computer labs, the classrooms, in the library for targeted research and in the units for media competency where they learn further important foundations and skills for using both new and old media. As a prerequisite to this, our school has specialist rooms well-equipped with technology. The internet, the school network and Wi-Fi is available in each room, a projector and a PC in every classroom, a laptop for each employee, two computer labs, a library and a reliable technical support team represent the provision of information technology in the school building.

As of the 2019/20 school year, we look forward to far-reaching changes and ground-breaking modernisations to our IT infrastructure, which will also have a direct and immediate impact on the way students learn at our school. We will be adapting the school’s entire software set-up to Microsoft 365 applications. All students will be given their own Microsoft 365 account and a Platanus e-mail address for media-supported work and communication in the school and at home – both with each other and with our teaching staff. We will also be introducing class sets of mobile devices and in doing so, we will also equip the DaZ and EAL students (German and English as Additional Languages).

Our subject rooms, the workshop and many excursions outside of the school grounds offer stimulating learning environments for practical and practice-oriented learning in all grades.

Trade associations worldwide emphasize the importance of the availability of innovation-relevant workers with a STEM (Sciences/Technology/Engineering/Mathematics) focus for the innovative strength of companies. By focusing on these subjects, we offer our students the appropriate education for the best opportunities on the german and international job market.

Questions and Answers about Mathematics and Science

In classes 1 to 4, IT and media education are integrated into the subject teaching also taken up in all other subjects. In classes 5 to 10, IT and media education are integrated into all subjects – depending on the topic and application. This also means that in all subjects, our students study the opportunity to use the computer, with office and educational software, e-Mail, Internet and multimedia applications to practice interesting topics.
In classes 5 and 6 there are additional one-hour IT and biweekly media lessons, in which topics include the handling and use of the media, social networks and electronic aids. In grades 5 and 6 we also offer the elective courses “Media Studies” and “Robotics”, for those students who want to engage more intensively with it.
We are leaning in the further development of our curriculum for IT and media education the objectives and standards of the European Computer Driving License (European Computer Driving License, ECDL – internationally recognized as International Computer Driving License, ICDL).
With these methods in modern teaching, we effortlessly prepare our students for an increasingly digitized working and living environment.

In the primary school, we develop the mathematical and scientific foundations in a playful manner so that our students are open to these topics right from the beginning. In science and social studies (grades 1-4), mathematics and especially on our fortnightly project days, we deal with any questions relating to everyday life that the children may have. From grade 1 onwards, we teach a higher number of lessons in Science and Social Science than in the Berlin primary schools and in team teaching with a Bezugserzieher*in.
From grade 5, the sciences are taught in German and/or English, in Team-Teaching as well as in a cross-curricular way. The aim of this, is to develop a basic understanding of the close subject link between the scientific subjects of biology, chemistry, physics and for the students to expand their scientific vocabulary in both languages as well as to promote skills through interdisciplinary thinking and learning.

In both the primary and secondary school, we teach the same amount of hours in science, or biology, chemisty and physics, as outlined in the timetable for the Gymnasium in Berlin.

In the secondary school, we teach through a mixture of specialised lessons, fortnightly project days, and our Work & Travel program. We address the students‘ real and life related mathematical and scientific questions that reach far beyond the curriculum.
In grades 7 and 8, secondary school students learn Natural Sciences with a total of 2 hours more per week than in Berlin’s high schools. In addition, from grade 7, we already teach specialized subjects and at a higher level in the sub-disciplines of biology, physics and chemistry.
We also go into cooperation and partnership with businesses and scientific institutions in Berlin (for example the Natural History Museum, the Glass Laboratory in Buch, the Pupil Uni and FU Berlin) and also with local trades, industries and factories (e.g. Buchlokal (our local book shop), „Adopt-a-Stream“ project with the Panke, BMW and Mercedes Werke Berlin). Experts from research and economics take part in our project days, which take place both inside and outside of the school.

Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

Unser vorrangiges Ziel ist es, Jungen und Mädchen gleichermaßen für die Mathematik und die Naturwissenschaften zu begeistern und ihr fachbezogenes Selbstbewusstsein zu entwickeln, ohne dass überhaupt Hemmschwellen gegenüber diesen als kompliziert betrachteten Fächern aufgebaut werden. Wir wählen deshalb den Weg, alltagsbezogene Fragestellungen der Schüler*innen aufzugreifen und in praktisch-experimenteller Art zu behandeln. Unser Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf den wichtigen Zukunftsthemen Natur, Ökologie, Umweltschutz, Umwelttechnik, Ernährung, sparsamer Umgang mit Energie und Ressourcen, erneuerbare Energien und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften.

Die Beschäftigung mit der Mathematik, den Naturwissenschaften und deren breitgefächerten Anwendungsgebieten ist in fächerverbindenden und projektorientierten Aktivitäten ein selbstverständlicher Bestandteil unserer Schulkultur geworden. In speziellen Arbeitsgemeinschaften, bei Wettbewerben, Projekttagen, bei unseren Schulveranstaltungen, auf Klassenfahrten und in unserem Work & Travel Programm greifen wir mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Themen und Inhalte in allen Klassenstufen auf.

Schülerinnen und Schüler beim Experimentieren

Unsere Schüler* innen erlernen in den Computerlabs und Unterrichtsräumen den selbstverständlichen Umgang mit dem Computer, in der Bibliothek die zielgerichtete Recherche sowie in den Einheiten zur Medienkompetenz weitere wichtige Grundlagen und Befähigungen zur Nutzung der neuen wie auch der alten Medien. Als Voraussetzung verfügt unsere Schule über technisch sehr gut ausgestattete Fachräume, W-LAN in jedem Raum sowie Zugang zu Internet und Schulnetzwerk, einen Decken-Beamer und PC in jedem Unterrichtsraum, ein Laptop für jede/n Mitarbeiter*in, zwei Computerräume (Computerlabs) und einen zuverlässigen technischen Support.

Unsere Fachräume, die Werkstatt und viele Exkursionen außerhalb des Schulgeländes bieten anregende Lernumgebungen für praktisches und praxisbezogenes Lernen in allen Klassenstufen.

Weltweit wird von Wirtschaftsverbänden die Bedeutung der Verfügbarkeit von innovationsrelevanten Arbeitskräften mit einem MINT-Schwerpunkt (Mathematik/Informatik/Naturwisschenschaft/Technik) für die Innovationskraft von Unternehmen betont. Mit einer Fokussierung auf diese Fächer bieten wir unseren Schülerinnen und Schülern die entsprechende Bildung für beste Chancen auf dem internationalen Arbeitsmarkt.

Fragen und Antworten zu Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

In den Klassen 1 bis 4 ist die IT- und Medienbildung in den Sachunterricht integriert und wird darüber hinaus auch in allen anderen Fächern aufgegriffen. In den Klassen 5 bis 10 findet die IT- und Medienbildung integriert in allen Unterrichtsfächer statt – je nach Thema und Anwendung. Das bedeutet auch, dass unsere Schüler*innen in allen Unterrichtsfächern die Gelegenheit bekommen, den Umgang mit dem Computer, mit Office- und Lernsoftware, E-Mail, Internet und Multimedia-Anwendungen an interessanten Themen zu praktizieren.
In den Klassen 5 und 6 gibt es zweiwöchentlich eine zusätzliche Stunde IT- und Medienunterricht, in der Themen über den Umgang und die Nutzung der Medien, über soziale Netzwerke und elektronische Hilfsmittel behandelt werden. In den Klassen 5 und 6 bieten wir außerdem die Wahlpflichtfächer „Medienkunde“ und „Robotik“ an, welche die Schüler*innen wählen können, die sich noch intensiver damit beschäftigen möchten.
In der Weiterentwicklung unseres Curriculums für IT- und Medienbildung lehnen wir uns an die Ziele und Standards des Europäischen Computerführerscheins an (European Computer Driving Licence, ECDL – international anerkannt als International Computer Driving Licence, ICDL).
Mit diesen Methoden im modernen Unterricht bereiten wir unsere Schüler*innen mühelos auf eine zunehmend digitalisierte Arbeits- und Lebenswelt vor.

Wir erarbeiten die mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen in der Grundschule in spielerischer Form, sodass unsere Schüler*innen von Beginn an diesen Themen gegenüber aufgeschlossen sind. Im Sachunterricht (Klassen 1 bis 4), in Mathematik und insbesondere am zweiwöchentlichen Projekttag behandeln wir angewandte und auf die Lebenswelt der Kinder bezogene Fragestellungen.
Ab Klasse 1 unterrichten wir Sachunterricht verstärkt mit einer höheren Stundenanzahl als in den Berliner Grundschulen sowie im Team-Teaching mit den Bezugserzieher*innen.

In den Klassen 5 und 6 unterrichten wir die Naturwissenschaften im Team-Teaching mit den Bezugserzieher*innen fächerverbindend. Ziel ist es, ein Grundverständnis für die enge fachliche Verbindung zwischen den naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern Biologie, Chemie und Physik zu entwickeln. Wir geben den Schüler*innen die Möglichkeit, ihr wissenschaftliches Vokabular in beiden Sprachen zu erweitern und durch interdisziplinäres Denken und Lernen Kompetenzen zu fördern.

In der Sekundarschule behandeln wir im Fachunterricht, beim wöchentlichen Projekttag und in unserem Work & Travel Programm ebenfalls angewandte und auf die Lebenswelt der Jugendlichen bezogene mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen.
In den Klassen 7 und 8 lernen die Sekundarschüler*innen mit insgesamt 2 Wochenstunden mehr Naturwissenschaften als in den Berliner Gymnasien. Darüber hinaus unterrichten wir ab der Klasse 7 fachlich spezialisiert und auf hohem Niveau in den Teildisziplinen Biologie, Physik und Chemie.
Wir gehen Kooperationen und Partnerschaften mit Firmen und wissenschaftlichen Institutionen in Berlin ein (z. B. Naturkundemuseum, Gläsernes Labor in Buch, Schüleruni an der FU Berlin) sowie mit lokalem Handwerk, Gewerbe, Fabriken und Unternehmen (z. B. Buchlokal, Bachpatenschaft mit der Panke, BMW und Mercedes Werke Berlin). Fachleute aus Forschung und Wirtschaft begleiten unsere Projekttage, die wir innerhalb und außerhalb des Schulgebäudes durchführen.