Reagenzgläser mit Flüssigkeiten

‘Science Days’ at the Platanus Schule Berlin

This month at Platanus we enjoyed Science and Mathematics to its fullest!

On Tuesday the 14th of March like every year, the international Pi Day took place. The Year 7 celebrated in a traditional way with Obstkuchen (Fruit Pie) and commemorated all those mathematicians who occupied themselves with Pi. The result: Mathematics can be tasty – which of course had to be proven!

In the following days, the 15th, 16th and 17th of March, our ‘Science Days’ took place. Throughout the entire school building, with children of every age and with every teacher, things were researched, experimented, tested, measured, studied and reflected upon. There were a multitude of imaginative and varied scientific projects.

In Years 1 to 4, marble runs were built out of various materials – wood, paper, plastic, synthetic materials and styrofoam. Children were given free range with their imaginations and were given no restrictions as to what they could build. At the end, we measured the time it took for the marbles to reach the end of their run and drew conclusions on the various materials and their texture.

Meanwhile, students from Year 5 to 7 studied aeronautics and built colourful hot air balloons out of tissue paper. They then climbed to the ceiling in our gym. Aeronautics is the study of flying and includes the theory of constructing balloons, airships, planes and rockets. Our children were extremely excited!

All classes also built intelligent towers. The goal in this activity was to build the highest tower possible using only paper clips and pegs. The challenge however, was not that it not only had to stay standing, but also bear the weight of a thick dictionary for at least a minute.

Lots of fun was also had in the classes of Year 1-4 with the ‘Egg Drop Challenge’. The children had to create and build devices from all sorts of materials in which an egg would be embedded and then dropped from a height of 2 metres – all without breaking! Funny and crazy constructions were used and of course there was lots of laughter over so many smashed eggs. The children from Year 4 even successfully managed to build a parachute with which the egg was able to sail safely from the 3rd storey down to the school yard.

Furthermore, individual kaleidoscopes were conceived; paper planes were self constructed and tested; butterfly wings were let fly without being touched; ‘Hidden Messages’ were written and a colourful rainbow consisting of variously coloured liquids of differing densities were produced in a glass.

We also solved lots of funny brain-teasers which required us to think outside the box. For example:

„Two students are sitting on opposite sides of the same desk. There is nothing between them but the desk. Why can’t they see each other?“
Well, have you got any idea?
„The two students have their backs to each other.“

On top of this, we had great excursions with the children to the Spektrum Museum, the Technikmuseum and to the Öko-Insel FEZ as well as to the exhibitions ‘Abenteuer Planeten’ at the Planetarium am Insulaner and ‘Geboren and Willkommen’ at the MACHmit! Museum.

They were exciting days and proved to us again how much joy the sciences can give children, especially when they’re taught in interesting ways from passionate teachers. We thank our teacher and subject coordinator Joana Kappes for the extensive and amazing organisation of the ‘Science Days’. We would like to conclude with a quote from an enthusiastic scientist:

‘The highest happiness of man as a thinking being is to have probed what is knowable and quietly revere what is unknowable’.
Johann Wolfgang Goethe

Well Done! Happy Summer Holidays!

The last days before the summer holidays are always a very special time for us. Therefore we'd like to share it.... more

EXTREME READING COMPETITION

We love books, literature, stories and language so much that nothing in the world can stop us from reading. That's ... more

The “Radical Readers” write reviews!

In July, the prestigious English Children's Book Prize, the Kate Greenaway Medal, is awarded again. This is a ... more

Yeah! 3rd place at the Alba Tournament

Our basketball team made it to the podium! On 11th of May 2019 the final of the Alba Primary School League took... more

Work & Travel Students Exchange Program

As part of our Work & Travel program, this school year saw the third edition of our international exchange program ... more

Our wonderful Christmas Concert 2018

On the evening of December 20th, our festive Christmas concert took place again in the Hoffnungskirche Pankow. ... more

We celebrate Lucia, the Swedish Feast of Lights!

Today in Sweden and in Swedish communities around the world Lucia, the Swedish Festival of Lights, is celebrated.... more
Mann liest mehreren Kindern vor.

Reading Stories in our School Library

The „Bundesweite Vorlesetag“ (Nationwide Readout Day) is a joint initiative of DIE ZEIT, Stiftung Lesen and ... more

Evaluation of our bilingual Program

In the following, we cite: Steinlen, A. & Piske, Th. (2018). Final report for the Platanus School in Berlin: ... more

Reagenzgläser mit Flüssigkeiten

“Science Days” in der Platanus Schule Berlin

In diesem Monat haben wir bei Platanus die Wissenschaften und die Mathematik in vollen Zügen genossen.

Am Dienstag, den 14. März fand wie jedes Jahr der internationale Pi-Tag statt. Die 7. Klasse feierte dies ganz traditionell mit Obstkuchen (engl.: pie) und gedachte dabei all der Mathematiker*innen, die sich mit der Kreiszahl beschäftigt haben. Das Ergebnis: Mathematik kann sogar lecker sein – was zu beweisen war!

In den darauffolgenden Tagen, am 15., 16. und 17. März fanden unsere „Science Days“ statt. Im gesamten Schulhaus, mit Kindern jeder Altersstufe und mit allen Lehrer*innen und Erzieher*innen wurde geforscht, experimentiert, ausprobiert, gemessen, studiert und nachgedacht.

Es gab eine Vielzahl fantasievoller und abwechslungsreicher wissenschaftlicher Projekte.

In den Klassen 1 bis 4 wurden Murmelbahnen aus verschiedensten Materialien, wie z. B. Holz, Pappe, Plastik, Kunststoff und Styropor gebaut. Beim Aufbau der Murmelbahnen war der Fantasie der Kinder keine Grenze gesetzt. Im Anschluss haben wir die Zeit gemessen, die die Murmeln bis zum Ziel gebraucht haben und Rückschlüsse über die verschiedenen Materialien und ihre Beschaffenheit gezogen.

Währenddessen haben die Schüler*innen der 5. bis 7. Klassen die Aeronautik studiert und bunte Heißluftballons aus Seidenpapier gebaut. Diese stiegen dann in unserer Turnhalle an die Decke. Aeronautik ist die Wissenschaft vom Fliegen, einschließlich der Theorie und Konstruktion von Ballons, Luftschiffen, Flugzeugen und Raketen. Unsere Kinder waren davon sehr begeistert.

In allen Schulklassen wurden intelligente Türme gebaut. Hier gab es die Aufgabenstellung, einen höchstmöglichen Turm in Eigenkonstruktion nur aus Holzstäbchen und Wäscheklammern zu bauen. Die Herausforderung war, dass der Turm nicht nur stand, sondern auch für wenigstens eine Minute ein dickes Wörterbuch tragen konnte.

Sehr viel Spaß hatten die Erst- bis Viertklässler bei der „Egg Drop Challenge“. Die Kinder mussten Vorrichtungen aus allen möglichen Materialien erdenken und bauen, in die ein richtiges Hühnerei eingebettet werden und aus 2 m Höhe fallengelassen werden konnte, ohne zu zerbrechen. Es kamen überaus lustige und verrückte Konstruktionen zum Einsatz und natürlich wurde viel gelacht über so manches zerplatzte Ei. Die Kinder der 4. Klasse ließen sogar erfolgreich ein Ei am Fallschirm aus dem 3. Stock auf den Schulhof segeln.

Weiterhin wurden eigene Kaleidoskope erdacht; Papierflugzeuge selbst gebaut und ausprobiert; Schmetterlingsflügel fliegen gelassen, ohne sie zu berühren; ‘Hidden Messages’ geschrieben und ein bunter Regenbogen mit verschiedenfarbigen Flüssigkeiten unterschiedlicher Dichte im Glas erzeugt.

Wir haben gemeinsam viele witzige Denkaufgaben gelöst, bei denen es darauf ankam, um die Ecke zu denken, z. B.:

„Two students are sitting on opposite sides of the same desk. There is nothing between them but the desk. Why can’t they see each other?“

Na, haben Sie eine Idee?

„The two students have their backs to each other.“

Außerdem haben wir mit den Kindern tolle Ausflüge in das Spektrum Museum, in das Technikmuseum und zur Öko-Insel des FEZ unternommen und die Ausstellungen „Abenteuer Planeten“ im Planetarium am Insulaner und „geboren und willkommen“ im MACHmit! Museum besucht.

Es waren aufregende Tage und diese für uns mal wieder der Beweis, wie viel Freude die Schulfächer der Naturwissenschaften Kindern machen, wenn sie interessant vermittelt und vor allem mit Leidenschaft gelehrt werden. Wir danken unserer Lehrerin und Fachbereichsleiterin Joana Kappes für die aufwendige und tolle Organisation der „Science Days“ und schließen mit einem Zitat eines begeisterten Naturwissenschaftlers:

„Das schönste Glück des denkenden Menschen ist, das Erforschliche erforscht zu haben und das Unerforschliche zu verehren.“

Johann Wolfgang Goethe

EXTREME READING COMPETITION!

Wir lieben Bücher, Literatur, Geschichten und Sprache so sehr, dass uns einfach nichts auf der Welt vom Lesen ... mehr

Die “Radical Readers” schreiben Rezensionen!

Im Juli findet wieder die Verleihung des prestigeträchtigen, englischen Kinderbuchpreises, die Kate Greenaway ... mehr

Yeah! 3. Platz bei der Alba Grundschulliga

Unser Basketballteam hat es auf das Siegertreppchen geschafft! Am 11. Mai 2019 fand von 13:30 bis 19:00 Uhr das... mehr

Work & Travel Austauschprogramm

Im Rahmen unseres Work & Travel Programms fand bereits zum 3. Mal unser internationales Austauschprogramm statt - ... mehr

Unser wunderschönes Christmas Concert 2018

Am Abend des 20. Dezember fand wieder unser feierliches Weihnachtskonzert in der Pankower Hoffnungskirche statt.... mehr

Wir feiern Lucia, das schwedische Lichterfest!

Heute wird in Schweden und schwedischen Gemeinden außerhalb des Landes Lucia, das schwedische Lichterfest ... mehr
Mann liest mehreren Kindern vor.

Geschichten lesen in unserer Schulbücherei

Der Bundesweite Vorlesetag ist eine gemeinsame Initiative von DIE ZEIT, Stiftung Lesen und Deutsche Bahn Stiftung. ... mehr

Evaluierung unseres bilingualen Programms

Wir zitieren im Folgenden aus: Steinlen, A. & Piske, Th. (2018). Abschlussbericht für die Platanus Schule Berlin: ... mehr

Buenos Dias, Ciao, Nĭ Hăo und Namasté!

Ernährung und die Art und Weise wie Menschen essen, stellt überall auf der Welt einen wichtigen Teil der sozialen... mehr