Kinder beim Truthahnbraten essen

Thanksgiving Lunch

The year is slowly coming to an end and we are officially in the “dark season”. Although we are already starting to think about the quiet and tranquil winter and Christmas time, they have already started celebrating in the US with Thanksgiving!

There are many stories and myths about Thanksgiving. The first settlers, colonists and pilgrims, who had to brave the storms for weeks and had to put up with many other exertions during their voyage to the “New World”, are said to have expressed their gratitude for the successful crossing with a festive feast. There are also tales of traditions where Indian tribes provided food for new people arriving who were starving and thus saved their lives. Whatever is true, ultimately it’s the thought that counts. The Thanksgiving feast has been a sign of peace and cooperation since its inception. For most Americans, this feast is a great occasion for the whole family to get together for a day of rest and to say thank you for all the good things in life. In everyday life, it is easy for people to forget not to take things for granted.

Because we find this tradition so lovely, and find the values it stands for to be important, today we surprised our children in both the kindergarten as well as at school by organising an opulent and delicious “Thanksgiving Lunch”. At school, all children ate traditionally prepared roast turkey with mashed sweet potatoes, green bean casserole and Mac & Cheese. Before the children enjoyed this special lunch, we talked about the history and tradition of Thanksgiving, then we all thought about what we are thankful for and managed to come up with a lot.

We are very grateful that our Erzieher Mr. Veazie was able to organise this lunch in collaboration with our catering company “Löwenzahn“. And by the way, it wasn’t just the kids who found the food so tasty!

We are MINT-friendly School in Berlin!

Hurray, we made it and our application for the "MINT-freundliche Schule" (Mathematics/IT/Natural ... more
umweltschule in europa Logo

Environmental School in Berlin and Europe!

It is great news that despite and because of the Corona pandemic we have received our certification as ... more
Platanus Jubiläum

10 YEARS – HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Today is May 15th, 2020, and if the Corona Pandemic hadn’t thwarted our plans, we would all have celebrated a ... more
Happy Easter

Many Thanks and Happy Easter!

After the first three weeks and the experiences of school closure and home schooling, which were completely new for... more
Platanus School4Earth

We are Pilot School at “Schools for Earth”

In the last few months, we have discussed much and informed ourselves about what we as a school can do in concrete ... more

We love cinema and are in Berlinale Fever!

From February 21st to March 1st 2020 the 70th Berlinale will take place in our city. For this occasion, we are ... more

New Workshop: Artificial Intelligence!

"Women in AI" (WAI) is a non-profit association that works worldwide for gender justice in the research and working... more

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

On Saturday evening, our great Magic Movie Night took place again, which is organized every year in November by our... more

Spanish Project Day: Our 8th Graders dance Salsa!

Our Spanish teacher Ms. Gianatelli from Argentina had a great idea for her project day - focus on Spanish with the ... more

Kinder beim Truthahnbraten essen

Thanksgiving Festessen

Das Jahr neigt sich langsam dem Ende zu und wir befinden uns wieder in der „dunklen Jahreszeit“. Während wir uns schon gedanklich auf die ruhige und besinnliche Winter- und Weihnachtszeit einstimmen, wird dieser Tage in den USA schon gefeiert: das Thanksgiving-Fest!

Es gibt viele Geschichten und Mythen, die sich um Thanksgiving ranken. Die ersten Siedler, Kolonisten und Pilger, die damals wochenlang den Stürmen trotzten und sich vielen anderen Strapazen bei den Schiffsreisen in die „Neue Welt“ aussetzen mussten, sollen mit einem Festschmaus ihrer Dankbarkeit für die gelungene Überfahrt Ausdruck verliehen haben. Es existieren auch Überlieferungen, dass Indianerstämme die ausgehungerten Ankömmlinge mit Nahrung versorgt haben und so ihr Leben gerettet haben. Was immer davon wahr ist, letztendlich zählt der Gedanke. Das Thanksgiving-Fest ist seit seinem Ursprung ein Zeichen des Friedens und der gegenseitigen Hilfe. Für die meisten Amerikaner*innen ist das Fest ein schöner Anlass, zu dem die ganze Familie zusammenkommt, um für einen Tag inne zu halten und sich für alles Gute im Leben zu bedanken. Die Menschen vergessen im Alltag schnell, dass viele Dinge in unserem Leben nicht selbstverständlich sind.

Da wir diese Tradition und vor allem die Werte, für die sie steht, schön und wichtig finden, haben wir heute sowohl im Kindergarten wie auch in der Schule unsere Kinder überrascht und einen opulenten und köstlichen „Thanksgiving Lunch“ organisiert. In der Schule gab es für alle Kinder traditionell zubereiteten Truthahnbraten mit Süßkartoffelbrei, grünen Bohnen und Mac & Cheese. Bevor die Kinder dieses spezielle Mittagessen genossen haben, sprachen wir über die Geschichte und Tradition des Festes. Dann haben wir alle darüber nachgedacht, worüber wir dankbar sein können und uns ist sehr viel eingefallen.

Wir freuen uns, dass unser Erzieher Mr. Veazie in Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Catering-Anbieter „Löwenzahn“ dieses Festessen organisiert hat und können außerdem noch verraten, dass es nicht nur den Kindern hervorragend geschmeckt hat.

Wir sind MINT-freundliche Schule!

Hurra, wir haben es geschafft und unsere Bewerbung für das Signet MINT-freundliche Schule ... mehr
umweltschule in europa Logo

Wir sind Umweltschule in Berlin und Europa!

Eine großartige Nachricht ist, dass wir trotz und wegen der Corona-Pandemie unsere Zertifizierung als ... mehr
Platanus Jubiläum

10 JAHRE-HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Heute ist der 15. Mai 2020 und hätte uns die Corona Pandemie nicht einen gewaltigen Strich durch die Pläne ... mehr
Happy Easter

Herzlichen Dank und Frohe Ostern!

Nach den ersten drei Wochen und der für uns alle völlig neuen Erfahrungen von Schulschließung und Home Schooling... mehr
Platanus School4Earth

Wir sind Pilotschule für „Schools for Earth“

In den letzten Monaten haben wir viel diskutiert und uns informiert, was wir als Schule gemeinsam mit unseren ... mehr

Wir lieben Kino und sind im Berlinale-Fieber!

Vom 21. Februar bis zum 1. März 2020 findet in unserer Stadt die 70. Berlinale statt. Zu diesem Anlass haben wir ... mehr

Neuer Workshop: Künstliche Intelligenz!

„Women in AI“ (WAI) ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der sich weltweit für Gendergerechtigkeit in der ... mehr

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

Am Samstagabend fand wieder unsere großartige Magic Movie Night statt, die jedes Jahr im November von unserem ... mehr

Spanisch-Projekttag: Die 8. Klasse tanzt Salsa!

Unsere Spanischlehrerin aus Argentinien Ms. Gianatelli hatte eine großartige Idee für ihren Projekttag - ... mehr