Our wonderful Christmas Concert 2018

On the evening of December 20th, our festive Christmas concert took place again in the Hoffnungskirche Pankow.

The recitation of the poem “Twas the Night Before Christmas” by Clement Clarke Moore, actually one evening before Christmas Eve, is a popular tradition all over the world. These world-famous verses have been instrumental in the creation of Santa Claus from the mid-19th century to the present day.
They also had a great influence on the tradition of giving Christmas presents. The girls and boys from Mr. Erman’s theatre class performed this poem throughout the evening between the singing and dancing performances, creating a wonderful atmosphere.

The students from every class performed and sang German and English Christmas classics such as “Silent Night”, “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”, “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” and “Schneeflöckchen, Weißröckchen”.

Our Hip Hop Club gave a great performance to an interpretation of “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy“ from “The Nutcracker” by Pjotr Tschaikowski. And of course there was also a surprise performance by the Platanus team for our students. Educators, teachers and our managing director brought a cool dance performance from Tyler, the Creators “I am the Grinch” onto the stage and added to an already festive mood.

But the great highlight was the final song. With the junior choir on stage, all the students from our school in the audience sang together the Nigerian Yoruba Christmas song “Betelehum”, a popular song by Grammy-nominated drummer Babatunde Olatunji, which is also known worldwide. It was simply uplifting when our Platanus students from all over the world sang this beautiful song together. If you like, watch the video we’ve uploaded to the school’s Facebook account.

The Christmas Concert is always close to our hearts and everyone in the team is looking forward to it long before it happens. We would like to thank everyone who helped to organize this evening in just 3 weeks, first and foremost our head of the music department, Ms. Kemish and her husband, our music teacher Mr. Leonard. They planned the program during their parental leave and used their little daughter’smidday naps to rehearse. Ms. Wübben rehearsed the songs with the children at school and accompanied them beautifully on the piano in the evening. Mr. Erman took over the complex organisation of the event and made sure that it went smoothly. As always, Ms. Morris choreographed the dance performances and worked with Ms. Peel to plan the substitution during rehearsals. All teachers and educators were great as always, incredibly patient, and supported the children during the rehearsals and performances. The biggest achievement every year, however, is transporting about 300 excited, tingly, expectant and joyful children safely to church at the same time.

Our charity collection campaign was also a complete success. We collected 1,647.18€ and donated this immense amount to the aid organisation World Vision. For this we were even thanked personally by telephone. The money will benefit children and their families affected by the tsunami in Indonesia.

Last but not least we must not forget the most important people: Mainly our Platanus children and young people for giving us a beautiful evening and a wonderful mood for Christmas time.

News

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2022

Dear children, parents and colleagues, Today is already our last day of school and we would like … more "Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2022"
Während des Livestreams

Open House Day 2021

Unfortunately, due to Corona, we were unable to offer guided tours of our entire building for guests to observe classes … more "Open House Day 2021"
Frau mit Progress-Flagge

Are you ready for some Spirit?

After all the exhausting last weeks and months, we were in the mood for variety, fun and craziness. Our … more "Are you ready for some Spirit?"
Abitur bei Platanus ab Schuljahr 2024/25

From 2024/25: Upper Secondary School!

We have great news: Starting in the school year 2024/25, all students at Platanus Schule Berlin will be… more "From 2024/25: Upper Secondary School!"
Schüler im Kunstunterricht

Our Art Lessons: At Platanus, we TAB!

What is TAB? TAB is an art education concept which allows students to take more ownership over the … more "Our Art Lessons: At Platanus, we TAB!"
Logo all genders WC

Diversity@Platanus School

Why do we present a restroom sign on our website? Because it’s a symbol for diversity in our school, and that’s… more "Diversity@Platanus School"

Unser wunderschönes Christmas Concert 2018

Am Abend des 20. Dezember fand wieder unser feierliches Weihnachtskonzert in der Pankower Hoffnungskirche statt.

Das Rezitieren des Gedichts „Twas the Night Before Christmas“ von Clement Clarke Moore, eigentlich einen Abend vor Heiligabend, ist eine beliebte Tradition auf der ganzen Welt. Diese weltbekannten Verse sind maßgeblich für die Vorstellungen vom Weihnachtsmann von der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts bis heute verantwortlich. Sie hatten weiterhin einen großen Einfluss auf die Tradition des Schenkens zu Weihnachten. Die Mädchen und Jungen aus der Theaterklasse von Mr. Erman führten durch den Abend und haben zwischen den Gesangs- und Tanzauftritten dieses Gedicht wunderbar stimmungsvoll vorgetragen.

Die Kinder und Jugendlichen aller Schulklassen sind aufgetreten und haben deutsche und englische Weihnachtsklassiker gesungen, wie z.B. „Silent Night“, „Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer“, „Santa Claus is coming to Town“ und „Schneeflöckchen, Weißröckchen“.

Unser Hip Hop Club zeigte eine tolle Performance zu einer Interpretation vom „Tanz der Zuckerfee“ aus „Der Nussknacker“ von Pjotr Tschaikowski. Und es gab natürlich auch wieder einen Überraschungsauftritt des Platanus-Teams für unsere Schüler*innen. Erzieher*innen, Lehrer*innen und unsere Geschäftsführerin haben einen coolen Dance-Auftritt zu Tyler, the Creators „I am the Grinch“ auf die Bühne gebracht und damit für Stimmung gesorgt.

Großartiger Höhepunkt aber war das Schlusslied. Der Junior Chor auf der Bühne und alle Kinder und Jugendlichen unserer Schule im Publikum sangen gemeinsam den nigerianischen Yoruba Christmas Song „Betelehumu“, ein beliebtes und ebenfalls weltweit bekanntes Lied der Grammy-nominierten Schlagzeugerin Babatunde Olatunji. Wir haben ein Video auf dem Facebook Account der Schule hochgeladen. Es war schlichtweg erhebend, als Platanus Kinder und Jugendliche aus der ganzen Welt dieses schöne Lied zusammen sangen. Wenn Sie möchten, schauen Sie es sich an.

Das Christmas Concert liegt uns immer besonders am Herzen und auch alle im Team freuen sich lange vorher darauf. Wir danken allen, die mitgewirkt haben, diesen Abend in nur 3 Wochen zu organisieren und zu gestalten, in erster Linie unserer Musik-Fachbereichsleiterin Ms. Kemish und ihrem Mann, unserem Musiklehrer Mr. Leonard. Die beiden haben während ihrer Elternzeit das Programm geplant und die Mittagsschläfchen ihrer kleinen Tochter genutzt um zu proben. Ms. Wübben studierte mit den Kindern in der Schule die Lieder ein und begleitete am Abend wunderschön auf dem Klavier. Mr. Erman hat die komplexe Organisation der Veranstaltung übernommen und maßgeblich für einen reibungslosen Ablauf gesorgt. Wie immer choreografierte Ms. Morris die coolen Dance-Performances und hat gemeinsam mit Ms. Peel die Vertretungen während der Proben geplant. Alle Lehrer*innen und Erzieher*innen waren wie immer großartig, unglaublich geduldig und haben die Kinder während der Proben und Auftritte super unterstützt. Die größte Leistung besteht aber in jedem Jahr vor allem darin, ca. 300 aufgeregte, kribbelige, erwartungsvolle und vorfreudige Kinder zeitgleich sicher zur Kirche zu transportieren.

Unsere Charity-Sammelaktion war auch wieder ein voller Erfolg: Wir haben 1.647,18 Euro eingenommen und diesen immensen Betrag an World Vision e.V. gespendet. Dafür wurde uns sogar telefonisch gedankt. Das Geld kommt Kindern und ihren Familien zugute, die von dem Tsunami in Indonesien betroffen sind.

Zu guter Letzt dürfen wir aber die wichtigsten Menschen nicht vergessen: Hauptsächlich unsere Platanus Kinder und Jugendlichen bereiteten uns einen schönen Abend und eine wunderbare Einstimmung auf die Weihnachtszeit.

Nachrichten

Während des Livestreams

Tag der offenen Tür 2021

An unserem Tag der offenen Tür konnten wir leider Corona bedingt auch in diesem Jahr keine Führungen für die ... mehr "Tag der offenen Tür 2021"
Frau mit Progress-Flagge

Are you ready for some Spirit?

Nach den ganzen anstrengenden letzten Wochen und Monaten stand uns der Sinn nach Abwechslung, Spaß und ... mehr "Are you ready for some Spirit?"
Abitur bei Platanus ab Schuljahr 2024/25

Gymnasiale Oberstufe ab Schuljahr 2024/25!

Wir haben tolle Neuigkeiten: Ab dem Schuljahr 2024/25 können alle Schüler*innen der Platanus ... mehr "Gymnasiale Oberstufe ab Schuljahr 2024/25!"
Schüler im Kunstunterricht

Unser Kunstunterricht: Wir praktizieren TAB!

Was bedeutet TAB? TAB ist ein kunstpädagogisches Konzept, das es den Schüler*innen ... mehr "Unser Kunstunterricht: Wir praktizieren TAB!"
Logo all genders WC

Diversität@Platanus Schule Berlin

Warum präsentieren wir ein Toilettenschild auf unserer Webseite? Weil es ein Zeichen setzt für ... mehr "Diversität@Platanus Schule Berlin"
Weihnachtskarte 2020

Frohe Weihnachten 2020 und guten Rutsch!

Liebe kleine und große Kinder, Eltern, Kolleg*innen, Geschäftspartner*innen und Freunde, WAS ... mehr "Frohe Weihnachten 2020 und guten Rutsch!"