Purchasing decisions change the world!

Yesterday our project day took place in class 5b on the topic “Our purchasing decisions change the world”.

We visited the grocery store “Der Sache wegen” in Prenzlauer Berg and got many interesting tips on how to be environmentally friendly in everyday life. This grocery store only sells products which are organic, fair trade, without animal suffering, without palm oil, without plastic packaging and regional. We as consumers determine the course and if we make our daily shopping as valuable and sustainable as possible and if more and more people in more and more countries do so, this will not remain hidden from the food companies. Demand determines supply!

Afterwards we went to school and recycled old t-shirts that should be thrown away and sewed reusable shopping bags out of them. In earlier times clothes and articles of daily use were repaired much more often, in today’s disposable society we all tend to simply buy new ones. In German wardrobes alone, there are over 5 billion items of clothing hanging in the wardrobes, which makes about 95 items of clothing per person. Every fifth piece of clothing we hardly ever wear. The prices for clothes are low and buying new is often more comfortable and cheaper than repairing or mending. But the price for the environment is high, because this means more and more CO2 emissions, microplastics made of different synthetic materials in the ground water and the sea, immense water consumption and toxic chemicals that get into lakes, rivers or the sea via waste water or even directly.

During this project day it was important for us to sensitize the children, to think carefully about every purchase decision and to ask ourselves what is really needed. It was a super cool day, because the students also learned how to sew and some of them still use these “upcycled” bags!

We are MINT-friendly School in Berlin!

Hurray, we made it and our application for the "MINT-freundliche Schule" (Mathematics/IT/Natural ... more
umweltschule in europa Logo

Environmental School in Berlin and Europe!

It is great news that despite and because of the Corona pandemic we have received our certification as ... more
Platanus Jubiläum

10 YEARS – HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Today is May 15th, 2020, and if the Corona Pandemic hadn’t thwarted our plans, we would all have celebrated a ... more
Happy Easter

Many Thanks and Happy Easter!

After the first three weeks and the experiences of school closure and home schooling, which were completely new for... more
Platanus School4Earth

We are Pilot School at “Schools for Earth”

In the last few months, we have discussed much and informed ourselves about what we as a school can do in concrete ... more

We love cinema and are in Berlinale Fever!

From February 21st to March 1st 2020 the 70th Berlinale will take place in our city. For this occasion, we are ... more

New Workshop: Artificial Intelligence!

"Women in AI" (WAI) is a non-profit association that works worldwide for gender justice in the research and working... more

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

On Saturday evening, our great Magic Movie Night took place again, which is organized every year in November by our... more

Spanish Project Day: Our 8th Graders dance Salsa!

Our Spanish teacher Ms. Gianatelli from Argentina had a great idea for her project day - focus on Spanish with the ... more

Kaufentscheidungen verändern die Welt!

Gestern fand unser Projekttag in der Klasse 5b zum Thema „Unsere Kaufentscheidungen verändern die Welt“ statt.

Wir besuchten den Lebensmittelladen „Der Sache wegen“ im Prenzlauer Berg und bekamen dort viele interessante Tipps zum Thema Umweltfreundlichkeit im Alltag. Dieser Einkaufsladen verkauft nur Produkte, welche bio, fair gehandelt, ohne Tierleid, ohne Palmöl, ohne Plastikverpackung und regional sind. Wir als Konsument*innen bestimmen den Kurs und wenn wir unseren alltäglichen Einkauf so wertvoll und nachhaltig wie möglich gestalten und wenn dies immer mehr Menschen in immer mehr Ländern tun, wird das auch den Nahrungsmittelkonzernen nicht verborgen bleiben. Die Nachfrage bestimmt das Angebot!

Im Anschluss sind wir in die Schule gefahren und haben alte T-Shirts recycelt, welche weggeworfen werden sollen und daraus wiederverwendbare Einkaufstaschen genäht. In früheren Zeiten wurden Kleidung und Gebrauchsgegenstände viel häufiger repariert, in der heutigen Wegwerfgesellschaft tendieren wir alle dazu, einfach neu zu kaufen. Allein in deutschen Kleiderschränken hängen über 5 Milliarden Kleidungsstücke, pro Mensch macht das ca. 95 Kleidungsstücke. Jedes Fünfte Kleidungsstück tragen wir so gut wie nie. Die Preise für Kleidung sind gering und neu kaufen ist oft bequemer und billiger als reparieren oder ausbessern. Der Preis für die Umwelt ist aber hoch, denn das bedeutet in der Folge immer mehr CO2 Ausstoß, Mikroplastik aus verschiedenen synthetischen Stoffen im Grundwasser und im Meer, immenser Wasserverbrauch und giftige Chemikalien, die über Abwässer oder sogar direkt in Seen, Flüsse oder ins Meer gelangen.

Bei diesem Projekttag war uns wichtig, die Kinder zu sensibilisieren, jede Kaufentscheidung genau zu überdenken und sich zu fragen, was man wirklich braucht. Es war ein super cooler Tag, da die Schüler*innen dabei auch noch Nähen gelernt haben und einige von ihnen benutzen immer noch diese “upcycled” Beutel!

umweltschule in europa Logo

Wir sind Umweltschule in Berlin und Europa!

Eine großartige Nachricht ist, dass wir trotz und wegen der Corona-Pandemie unsere Zertifizierung als ... mehr
Platanus Jubiläum

10 JAHRE-HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Heute ist der 15. Mai 2020 und hätte uns die Corona Pandemie nicht einen gewaltigen Strich durch die Pläne ... mehr
Happy Easter

Herzlichen Dank und Frohe Ostern!

Nach den ersten drei Wochen und der für uns alle völlig neuen Erfahrungen von Schulschließung und Home Schooling... mehr
Platanus School4Earth

Wir sind Pilotschule für „Schools for Earth“

In den letzten Monaten haben wir viel diskutiert und uns informiert, was wir als Schule gemeinsam mit unseren ... mehr

Wir lieben Kino und sind im Berlinale-Fieber!

Vom 21. Februar bis zum 1. März 2020 findet in unserer Stadt die 70. Berlinale statt. Zu diesem Anlass haben wir ... mehr

Neuer Workshop: Künstliche Intelligenz!

„Women in AI“ (WAI) ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der sich weltweit für Gendergerechtigkeit in der ... mehr

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

Am Samstagabend fand wieder unsere großartige Magic Movie Night statt, die jedes Jahr im November von unserem ... mehr

Spanisch-Projekttag: Die 8. Klasse tanzt Salsa!

Unsere Spanischlehrerin aus Argentinien Ms. Gianatelli hatte eine großartige Idee für ihren Projekttag - ... mehr

Laternenfest im Platanus Kindergarten!

In unserem Platanus Kindergarten in der Benjamin-Vogelsdorff-Straße haben wir am Freitag ein wunderschönes ... mehr