Co-Curricular Enrichment Program

Our Erzieher*innen are responsible for the Co-Curricular Enrichment Program at our school. They take care of our early/late care supervision, our immersion activities throughout the school day, as well as the program during the school holidays. In the afternoons, our Erzieher*innen, teachers and external club leaders offer a variety of clubs for the children.

Our school’s Ganztag team actively and enthusiastically shape school life. Within the full-day program, our Erzieher*innen hold responsibilities that go far beyond the level of care traditionally offered before school and in the afternoon. This involves both Support-Teaching, that is, lessons planned together with the teacher, and the organisation and implementation of various and varied full-day offerings. These take place throughout the school day and are linked to the content of the lessons or result from the development phases, the children’s interests and current issues facing children and young people.

Erzieher und Kinder im Kochkurs

In Years 1 to 6, each school class has its own Class Erzieher. The children are accompanied through the day by their class Erzieher – during Support-Teaching in class, during Ganztag and study periods, during breaks and meals together in the canteen. They are important persons of trust and support the children in their learning and language acquisition as well as in their personal development.

The also plan and organize the afternoon program with over 40 clubs for all age groups as well as the exciting and varied holiday program for Years 1 to 6.

We offer our secondary school students in Years 7 to 10 special clubs according to their interests and with more demanding tasks, as well as consultations with the subject teachers, support with homework, more personal responsibility in the regular class council and in the school committees, and challenging projects.


FAQ on our Co-Curricular Enrichment Program

Early care supervision takes place before lessons begin, from 6 to 8am, for all children in grades 1 to 6 whose parents already have to go to work. The children rest or play together and start the new day in a slow and relaxed manner.

Lessons begin at 8:10 for all students. The class or subject teachers are present in the class rooms from 8:00 and supervise the children as they start their school day in a quiet and organised way.

Depending on the grade and the day of the week, the compulsory school day for each class ends between 13:30 and 15:30.

In order to make the school day as comfortable as possible for all students and have the daily routine run smoothly, the daily schedules for grades 1 and 2 vary from grades 3 and 4, and grades 5 to 10 in lessons, Co-Curricular Enrichment and break times. In this way, we ensure a quiet lunch time, relaxed break times in the schoolyard and optimal utilisation of the subject rooms. Each class receive their timetables and daily schedules at the beginning of the school year.

Our afternoon program takes places between 13:30/15:30 (depending on the day of the week) and 18:00, with lots of clubs in either the English or German language. These clubs are made up of school students from all classes.

For all primary school students in grades 1 to 6, afternoon supervision is provided until either 4 pm or 6 pm, according to the individual supervision vouchers. This consists of free play time in the schoolyard or in our spacious early/late care room on the ground floor. Our school library is also open four afternoons per week and on two afternoons, the students have the opportunity to finish their homework in the homework hoom.

Lesson units or immersion activities can last for either 40 or 120 minutes. During this time, depending on age, development and the students‘ daily mood, one or more short breaks are taken, in which concentration is maintained by means of short movements or relaxation exercises. Through this regular alternation of phases, which either demand increased attention or phases which practice relaxation, we accommodate the natural daily rhythm of the students. In addition, individual, partner, group and station work, and other working methods change over the course of the school day. This enables us to achieve optimal learning conditions for the children in all subjects and immersion activities throughout the day.

From grades 1-6, the students eat both lunch and snack at a table, as a class group, with their Class Erzieher*innen. It is important to us that all children have the chance to eat their lunch in peace. For this reason, we organise lunch breaks and snack times in different shifts, depending on the grade. Every child can take the time they need to eat and those who are finished eating are allowed to go and play in the schoolyard.

Both lunch and snack are prepared according to nutritional physiology principles. Lunch is delivered by the catering firm Löwenzahn, and our afternoon snack is prepared by our school housekeeper. Sugar-free drinks and fruits and vegetables are available for the children in the cafeteria all day long. The parents also give their children a drink bottle with either water or sugar-free tea along with a second, healthy breakfast each day. This is eaten in the classroom shortly before or after the morning break.

Our students can choose from a very wide range of clubs in the field of sports, music, dance, art, languages, media/computers, maths, science, engineering, handiwork and crafts. Here you will find our club plan for the current school year.

Our Erzieher*innen and teachers design their clubs according to their strengths, abilities and experiences. Due to constant new ideas and developments, we are constantly adding to the clubs we offer. From grade 6 upwards, the students support us in the selection and organisation of their own clubs. The majority of our clubs take place in either the German or English language. Some clubs are led by two club leaders in both languages.

We also work in cooperation with external experts and partners to offer even more variety and to expand our club offers even further. We organise many of our sports clubs in this way with different associations (for example, SV Empor – Soccer, Alba Berlin – Basketball, Wasserratten e.V. – Swimming, Kletterhalle Berta Block – Climbing). The music school Schneegans offers one-to-one music lessons in piano, violin and guitar in our school building at an additional cost.

We follow the Berlin school calendar and have the same holidays as all other schools in Berlin.

We offer a varied holiday program from 6:00 to 18:00 each day during the school holidays. This program is for children in grades 1 to 6 and includes lots of interesting projects, exciting excursions and relaxed freeplay time.

In two weeks of the summer holidays we have a closing time with emergency care from 7.30 am to 5 pm, for which you have to register until April 30th. In the last week of the summer holidays, during Christmas holidays and on bridge days our school is closed. In addition, the school is always closed 3 days after the winter holidays during our team days.

Of course, we share the holidays and closing periods with all parents in good time and hang the information up in the Foyer.

In the 1st and 2nd grade our students use open cloakrooms.

For every student from Year 3 onwards, a locker must be rented free of charge. Here the children can include textbooks, exercise books, sports bags, bicycle helmets and other personal items. Children in grades 1 and 2 have also the option of renting a locker.

The alternating phases of the rhythmic daily routine are also reflected in our room concept. Up until 4th grade, the students have two rooms with a connecting door available to them. The classroom is equipt with tables and chairs while the connecting Co-Curricular Enrichment Room is more individual with open spaces, relaxation corners, as well as craft and construction areas. These Co-Curricular Enrichment Rooms are also co-designed by the children. This concept allows the students to take a step back at certain times of the day and allows them to decide whether they want to work in the classroom or in the Co-Curricular Enrichment Room.

Grades 5 – 10 have various group rooms available to them beside their classrooms. These rooms can be used for Team-Teaching or for working in small groups.

Yes, the class hour or Klassenrat (class council) is a fixed part of the timetable and takes place once per week. This time is used by both class teacher and class Erzieher*innen (from grade 7 only bi-weekly with the class teacher) with their class, to discuss current topics that preoccupy the students or colleagues.

Ganztag

Ganztag ist ein neuer und sich ständig weiterentwickelnder Begriff in einer Schule, in der Kinder von morgens bis zum Nachmittag in einem rhythmisierten Tagesablauf lernen.

Die Erzieher*innen unserer Schule gestalten aktiv und mit viel Engagement das Schulleben mit. Sie haben im Ganztagsprogramm Verantwortlichkeiten inne, die weit über die klassische Betreuung vor dem Unterricht und am Nachmittag hinausgehen. So gehört das Team-Teaching, also der gemeinsam mit den Lehrer*innen gestaltete Schulunterricht ebenso dazu wie die Organisation und Durchführung verschiedener und abwechslungsreicher Ganztagsangebote und „Immersion Activities“. Diese finden während des ganzen Schultages statt und knüpfen an die Inhalte des Unterrichts an oder ergeben sich aus Entwicklungsphasen, den jeweiligen Interessen und aktuellen Themen der Kinder und Jugendlichen.

Erzieher und Kinder im Kochkurs

In den Klassenstufen 1 bis 6 hat jede Schulklasse eine/n eigene/n Bezugerzieher*in. Die Kinder werden von ihren Bezugserzieher*innen durch den Tag begleitet – während des Team-Teaching im Unterricht, während der Ganztags- und Studierzeiten, in den Pausen und beim gemeinsamen Essen in der Mensa. Sie sind wichtige Vertrauenspersonen und unterstützen die Kinder beim Lernen und Spracherwerb wie auch in ihrer persönlichen Entwicklung.

Die Erzieher*innen planen und organisieren außerdem das Nachmittagsprogramm mit über 40 Arbeitsgemeinschaften für alle Altersstufen wie auch das spannende und abwechslungsreiche Ferienprogramm für die Klassen 1 bis 6.

Unseren Sekundarschüler*innen in den Klassen 7 bis 10 bieten wir spezielle Arbeitsgemeinschaften nach ihren Interessen und mit anspruchsvolleren Aufgaben, außerdem Konsultationen mit den Fach- und Klassenlehrer*innen, Unterstützung bei den Hausaufgaben, mehr Eigenverantwortung im regelmäßig stattfindenden Klassenrat und in den schulischen Gremien sowie anspruchsvolle Projekte.

Ab Klasse 4 gibt es außerdem ein besonderes Programm: Alle Schulklassen besuchen über das ganze Schuljahr Berliner Museen und Ausstellungen. An diesen Orten werden Geschichte, Kunst und Wissen bewahrt. Wir freuen uns, unseren Schüler*innen diese Welt kostenlos nahebringen zu können, da unser Förderverein “Platanus & Friends” diese Ausflüge finanziert.

Fragen und Antworten zum Ganztag

Die Frühbetreuung findet von 6 bis 8 Uhr vor dem Unterricht für alle Kinder der Klassen 1 bis 6 statt, deren Eltern schon zeitig zur Arbeit gehen. Die Kinder dösen oder spielen miteinander und beginnen so langsam und entspannt den neuen Tag.

Der Unterricht beginnt für alle Schüler*innen um 8.10 Uhr. Ab 8 Uhr sind die jeweiligen Klassen- oder Fachlehrer*innen in den Unterrichtsräumen anwesend und begleiten die Kinder bei einem ruhigen und organisierten Start in den Schultag.

Je nach Klassenstufe und Wochentag endet der verpflichtende Schultag für alle Kinder einer Klasse zwischen 13.30 und 15.30 Uhr.

Um den Schultag für alle Schüler*innen in allen Klassenstufen so angenehm wie möglich und die alltäglichen Abläufe reibungslos zu gestalten, variieren die Tagesabläufe der Klassen 1 und 2, der Klassen 3 und 4 und der Klassen 5 bis 10 in Unterrichts-, Ganztags- und Pausenzeiten. So gewährleisten wir ruhige Mittagspausen, entspannte Pausenzeiten auf dem Schulhof und eine optimale Auslastung der Fachräume. Jede Klasse erhält zum Anfang des Schuljahres den Stundenplan und Tagesablauf.

Zwischen 13.30 und 15.30 Uhr (je nach Wochentag) bis 18 Uhr findet das Nachmittagsprogramm mit vielen deutsch- und englischsprachigen Arbeitsgemeinschaften klassenübergreifend für alle Schüler*innen statt.

Für die Grundschüler*innen der Klassen 1 bis 6 gibt es außerdem eine Nachmittagsbetreuung je nach Gutschein bis 16 oder 18 Uhr mit Freispiel auf dem Schulhof oder in unseren geräumigen Früh-/Spätbetreuungsräumen im Erdgeschoss. An zwei Nachmittagen ist auch die Schulbücherei geöffnet.

Unterrichtseinheiten oder Ganztagsangebote können zwischen 40 und 120 Minuten dauern. In dieser Zeit werden je nach Alter, Entwicklung und Tagesform der Schüler*innen eine oder mehrere kurze Pausen eingelegt, in denen mithilfe kurzer Bewegungs- oder Entspannungsübungen die Konzentration aufrechterhalten wird. Durch den regelmäßigen Wechsel von Phasen, die erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit verlangen, und Phasen, die der Entspannung dienen, kommen wir dem natürlichen Tagesrhythmus der Schüler*innen entgegen. Außerdem wechseln sich Einzel-, Partner-, Gruppen-, Stationsarbeit und andere Arbeitsmethoden im Verlauf des Schultages ab. Dadurch erreichen wir im gesamten Tagesverlauf optimale Lernbedingungen für die Kinder und Jugendlichen in allen Fächern und Ganztagsangeboten.

Von der 1. bis zur 6. Klasse nehmen die Schüler*innen das Mittagessen und den Snack gemeinsam als Klasse an einem Tisch mit ihrer/m Bezugserzieher*in ein. Es ist uns wichtig, dass alle Kinder ihr Mittagessen in Ruhe einnehmen können. Deshalb haben wir die Mittagspause und die Snackzeit je nach Klassenstufe zeitversetzt organisiert. Jedes Kind kann sich zum Essen die Zeit nehmen, die es braucht. Wer fertig ist, darf auf den Schulhof spielen gehen.

Das Mittagessen und der Snack am Nachmittag werden nach ernährungsphysiologischen Grundsätzen zubereitet. Das Mittagessen wird von der Catering-Firma Löwenzahn geliefert, der Snack am Nachmittag wird von unserer Hauswirtschafterin in der Schule zubereitet. Zuckerfreie Getränke stehen den Schüler*innen während des gesamten Tages in der Mensa zur Verfügung. Die Eltern geben ihren Kindern trotzdem eine Trinkflasche mit Wasser oder zuckerfreiem Tee sowie ein zweites, gesundes Frühstück mit. Dieses wird gemeinsam im Klassenraum kurz vor oder nach der Hofpause am Vormittag eingenommen.

Unsere Schüler*innen können aus einem sehr breiten Spektrum von Arbeitsgemeinschaften (AGs) in den Bereichen Sport, Musik, Tanz, Kunst, Sprachen, Medien/Computer, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften, Technik, Handwerk und Handarbeit wählen. Hier finden Sie unseren AG-Plan für das aktuelle Schuljahr

Unsere Erzieher*innen und Lehrer*innen planen und gestalten die AGs nach ihren Stärken, Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen. Mit immer neuen Ideen und weiterentwickelten AGs ergänzen wir unser Angebot stetig. Ab Klasse 6 unterstützen uns die Schüler*innen bei der Auswahl und Organisation ihrer eigenen AGs. Die meisten Arbeitsgemeinschaften finden in deutscher oder englischer Sprache statt. Einzelne AGs werden auch von zwei AG-Leiter*innen in beiden Sprachen durchgeführt

Wir arbeiten außerdem mit externen Fachleuten und Partnern in Kooperationen zusammen, um die Vielfalt unserer Angebote zu erweitern. So organisieren wir viele unserer Sportangebote zusammen mit Vereinen (u. a. SV Empor – Fußball, Alba Berlin – Basketball, Wasserratten e.V. – Schwimmen, Kletterhalle Berta Block – Klettern). Die Musikschule Schneegans führt bei uns im Haus kostenpflichtigen Einzelunterricht im Klavier-, Violinen- und Gitarrenspiel durch.

Wir folgen dem Berliner Schulkalender und haben zur gleichen Zeit Ferien wie alle anderen Schüler*innen in Berlin.
Für die Kinder der Klassen 1 bis 6 bieten wir in den Schulferien in der Zeit von 6.00 bis 18.00 Uhr ein abwechslungsreiches Ferienprogramm mit interessanten Projekten, spannenden Ausflügen und entspanntem Freispiel an.

In zwei Wochen der Sommerferien haben wir eine Schließzeit mit einer Notbetreuung von 7.30 bis 17 Uhr, für die man sich jeweils bis zum 30. April anmelden muss. In der letzten Woche der Sommerferien, in den Weihnachtsferien und an Brückentagen ist unsere Schule geschlossen.

Die Ferien- und Schließzeiten teilen wir den Eltern selbstverständlich rechtzeitig mit und hängen sie im Foyer aus.

In den Klassen 1 und 2 nutzen unsere Schüler*innen offene Garderoben.

Für jede Schülerin und jeden Schüler ab der 3. bzw. 4. Klasse (je nach Klassenraum) ist die Miete eines abschließbaren Spindes erforderlich. Hier können die Kinder Schulbücher, Schulhefte, Sporttaschen, Fahrradhelme und andere persönliche Gegenstände einschließen. Der Spind wird von den Eltern direkt und kostenpflichtig bei der Firma Eurobox angemietet.

Die Wechselphasen des rhythmisierten Tagesablaufs spiegeln sich ebenfalls in unserem Raumkonzept wider. Bis zur 4. Klasse stehen den Schüler*innen jeder Klasse zwei Räume zur Verfügung, die durch eine Tür miteinander verbunden sind. Der Klassenraum ist mit Stühlen und Tischen ausgestattet, während der dazugehörige Ganztagsraum individueller nutzbar und mit Freiflächen, Entspannungsecken sowie Bastel- und Bauflächen versehen ist und von den Kindern mitgestaltet wird. So können sich die Schüler*innen in bestimmten Phasen des Tages zurückziehen bzw. sich entscheiden, ob sie im Klassenraum oder im Ganztagsraum arbeiten möchten.

Für die Klassen 5 bis 10 stehen neben dem Klassenraum im Schulhaus diverse Gruppenräume zur Verfügung, die beim Team-Teaching und für die Arbeit in kleineren Lerngruppen genutzt werden können.

Ja, die Klassenstunde bzw. der Klassenrat ist ein fester Bestandteil des Stundenplans und findet einmal in der Woche statt. Diese Zeit nutzen Klassenlehrer*in und Bezugserzieher*in gemeinsam (ab Klasse 7 nur der/die Klassenlehrer*in) mit der Klasse, um verschiedene Themen zu besprechen, die die Schüler*innen und Kolleg*innen gerade beschäftigen.