Diversity @Platanus School

Why do we present a restroom sign on our website? Because it’s a symbol for diversity in our school, and that’s what we want to talk about.

In order to live even more tolerance, openness, acceptance, and respect in our school, we have founded our own working group on the topic of diversity. In this working group, colleagues from the school leadership and the team are active and collect ideas, discuss concepts, and deal with the question of how we can make the topic of diversity even more visible in our school community.

For this purpose, 5 main aspects of this topic have been developed as follows:

1. Role Understanding/Behavior

We are constantly learning and responding when differences lead to incomprehension, outrage, or rejection. It is often not easy for either children or adults when their own beliefs are challenged. We want to encourage all children, young people, and adults in our school to question their own possible pigeonholing and to examine their own behaviors. We encourage each other to use gender-appropriate language and to communicate openly.

We on the Platanus team question and rethink expectations of our students as well as ourselves. We celebrate the diversity of our school community and highlight the benefits of a diverse community. We believe that team spirit and respectful, tolerant interactions transcend boundaries.

2. Ideas and Actions(whole school approach)

How can we create and maintain a welcoming environment? Are there areas where we can do better? Where are we on our journey with regard to diversity? These and many other questions were discussed in the diversity group and the following initial concrete measures were decided upon and have already been implemented:

  • We are in the process of assessing our school values in order to incorporate “diversity” as one of our core values.
  • We have designated some of our restrooms in the school building as diverse restrooms so that children, youth, and adults have the option to use restrooms which represent their identities and feel that this is being is respected on every level.
  • We have updated our registration forms by adding “diverse” as another gender option. Gradually, we will implement this in every area of official communication.

Furthermore, we would like to make our school values more publicly visible and communicate them more clearly to all students in our school. We also plan to have interesting publications about this in our school magazine Platanus Post, on the Platanus Podcast, and on our pin boards in the school hallways.

3. Teaching and Co-Curricular Enrichment Program

When working with students, we closely observe in which situations and in which topics, teaching contents, games or other opportunities the chance arises to talk about diversity and to incorporate this topic in a natural way.

We want to get to know all the differences between the various cultures, religions and social backgrounds – individually and socially – and convey acceptance. An open and appreciative atmosphere as well as respectful interaction without stigmatization are the most important basis for this.

We take care to teach curriculum topics from an inclusive perspective. In our school life, we want to be attentive to stereotypes and speak openly about them, without accusations or blame, but always in a factual and enlightening manner.

It is especially important to us to increase awareness of different learning needs within our school (e.g. ADHD, learning and spelling disabilities, dyscalculia or autism) in order to provide all students with an individually tailored education. Here, our professional experts, Ms. Inken Kölle-Borg (child and adolescent psychotherapist (VT), counseling & diagnostics, child protection specialist) and Mr. Ray Rabe (integrative learning therapist, support for dyscalculia and dyslexia) are at our side.

4. Resources

We take diversity into account when selecting our teaching materials, games, and digital offerings. If we notice stereotypes, we point them out and encourage our students to do the same. We have also ordered interesting and age-appropriate books representing diversity for our school library.

5. School Festivals

We celebrate the linguistic and cultural diversity of our school at school festivals and offer various food highlights to learn about the holidays of other cultural and religious groups. You can find more information about this here: https://www.platanus-schule.de/en/buenos-dias-ni-hao-und-namaste/.

Our Goals

We are a diverse school community with people from different backgrounds. We are proud of this! It is important to us to reflect personal and social diversity. We try to create an awareness of other people and their lives, beliefs, orientations and characteristics. Again and again, we find that it is usually only prejudice or ignorance that defines supposed otherness.

We want to empower all students with knowledge, confidence, and resilience so that they have the courage to confront societal norms and injustices and feel comfortable, safe, and strong in our Platanus community and beyond.

If you have any additional ideas or thoughts on this topic, please contact us. We welcome suggestions.

Our Art Lessons: At Platanus, we TAB!

What is TAB? TAB is an art education concept which allows students to take more ownership over the art making ... more

Merry Christmas 2020 and a Happy New Year!

Dear Kids, Parents, Colleagues, Business Partners and Friends, WHAT A YEAR! We did not expect our anniversary... more

Current Activities and challenging Contests

Despite the Corona pandemic and the difficulties it has caused, we have organized many great activities and ... more

Lively and active school life despite Corona!

The last weeks and months were not always easy! Despite all adversities, circumstances and a lot of organizational ... more

We are MINT-friendly School in Berlin!

Hurray, we made it and our application for the "MINT-freundliche Schule" (Mathematics/IT/Natural ... more
umweltschule in europa Logo

Environmental School in Berlin and Europe!

It is great news that despite and because of the Corona pandemic we have received our certification as ... more
Platanus Jubiläum

10 YEARS – HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Today is May 15th, 2020, and if the Corona Pandemic hadn’t thwarted our plans, we would all have celebrated a ... more
Happy Easter

Many Thanks and Happy Easter!

After the first three weeks and the experiences of school closure and home schooling, which were completely new for... more
Platanus School4Earth

We are Pilot School at “Schools for Earth”

In the last few months, we have discussed much and informed ourselves about what we as a school can do in concrete ... more

We love cinema and are in Berlinale Fever!

From February 21st to March 1st 2020 the 70th Berlinale will take place in our city. For this occasion, we are ... more

New Workshop: Artificial Intelligence!

"Women in AI" (WAI) is a non-profit association that works worldwide for gender justice in the research and working... more

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

On Saturday evening, our great Magic Movie Night took place again, which is organized every year in November by our... more

Diversität @Platanus Schule Berlin

Warum präsentieren wir ein Toilettenschild auf unserer Webseite? Weil es ein Zeichen setzt für Diversität in unserer Schule und darüber wollen wir sprechen.

Um noch mehr Toleranz, Offenheit, Akzeptanz und Respekt in unserer Schule zu leben, haben wir eine eigene Arbeitsgruppe zum Thema Diversität gegründet. In dieser Arbeitsgruppe sind Kolleg*innen aus der Schulleitung und dem Team aktiv und sammeln Ideen, besprechen Konzepte und beschäftigen sich mit der Frage, wie wir das Thema Diversität in unserer Schulgemeinschaft noch sichtbarer machen können.

Hierfür wurden 5 Bereiche erarbeitet, die wir im Folgenden vorstellen möchten:

1. Rollenverständnis/Verhaltensweisen

Wir lernen ständig dazu und reagieren darauf, wenn Unterschiedlichkeit zu Unverständnis, Empörung oder Ablehnung führt. Es ist für Kinder und vor allem für Erwachsene oft nicht einfach, wenn eigene Überzeugungen in Frage gestellt werden. Wir wollen alle Kinder, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen unserer Schule ermutigen, mögliches eigenes Schubladendenken zu hinterfragen und die eigenen Verhaltensweisen zu überprüfen. Wir ermutigen uns gegenseitig zu geschlechtergerechter Sprache und zu einer offenen Kommunikation.

Wir im Platanus-Team hinterfragen und überdenken die Erwartungen an unsere Schüler*innen wie auch an uns selbst. Wir feiern die Diversität unserer Schulgemeinschaft und heben die Vorteile einer vielfältigen Gemeinschaft hervor. Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass durch Teamgeist und einen respektvollen, toleranten Umgang miteinander Grenzen überwunden werden können.

2. Ideen und Maßnahmen (gesamtschulischer Ansatz)

Wie können wir ein einladendes Umfeld schaffen und aufrechterhalten? Gibt es Bereiche, in denen wir noch besser werden können? Wie weit sind wir auf unserem Weg im Hinblick auf Diversität? Diese und viele weitere Fragen wurden in der Arbeitsgruppe diskutiert und folgende erste konkrete Maßnahmen beschlossen und auch schon umgesetzt:

  • Wir sind gerade dabei, unsere Schulwerte zu evaluieren, um ” Diversität” als einen unserer Kernwerte zu verankern.
  • Wir haben einige unserer Toiletten im Schulgebäude als Diversity-Toiletten ausgewiesen, sodass sich Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene in jeder Hinsicht respektiert fühlen und die Möglichkeit haben, Toiletten zu benutzen, die ihrer Identität entsprechen.
  • Wir haben unsere Anmeldeformulare geändert und als weitere Geschlechterdefinition „divers“ hinzugefügt. Sukzessive werden wir das in jedem Bereich unserer offiziellen Kommunikation umsetzen.

Weiterhin wollen wir unsere Schulwerte öffentlich sichtbarer machen und noch deutlicher an alle Schüler*innen unserer Schule kommunizieren. Außerdem sind interessante Veröffentlichungen dazu in unserer Schulzeitschrift Platanus Post, im Platanus Podcast und auf unseren Pinboards in den Schulfluren geplant.

3. Unterricht und Ganztag

Wir beobachten bei der Arbeit mit den Schüler*innen genau, in welchen Situationen und bei welchen Themen, Lehrinhalten, Spielen oder sonstigen Gelegenheiten sich die Chance ergibt, über Diversität zu sprechen oder diese ohne viele Worte zu verdeutlichen.

Wir wollen all die Unterschiede zwischen den verschiedenen Kulturen, Religionen und sozialer Herkunft kennenlernen – individuell und gesellschaftlich – und Akzeptanz vermitteln. Eine offene und wertschätzende Atmosphäre sowie ein respektvoller Umgang ohne Stigmatisierungen sind dafür die wichtigste Basis.

Wir achten darauf, Lehrplanthemen aus einem integrativen Blickwinkel zu vermitteln. In unserem Schulleben wollen wir aufmerksam sein in Bezug auf Stereotype und offen darüber sprechen, ohne Vorwürfe oder Schuldzuweisungen, immer sachlich und erklärend.

Besonders wichtig ist es uns, die Aufmerksamkeit für unterschiedliche Lernbedürfnisse innerhalb unserer Schule zu erhöhen (z.B. ADHS, Lern- und Rechtschreibschwäche, Dyskalkulie oder Autismus), um allen Schüler*innen eine individuelle und passgenaue Bildung zu ermöglichen. Hier stehen uns unsere fachlichen Experten, Frau Inken Kölle-Borg (Kinder- und Jugendlichenpsychotherapeutin (VT), Beratung & Diagnostik, Kinderschutzfachkraft) und Herr Ray Rabe (Integrativer Lerntherapeut, Förderung bei Dyskalkulie und Lese-Rechtschreibstörung) zur Seite.

4. Ressourcen

Wir achten bei der Auswahl unserer Unterrichtsmaterialien, Spiele und digitalen Angebote auf Diversität. Sollten uns Stereotype auffallen, weisen wir darauf hin und ermutigen auch unsere Schüler*innen dazu. Wir haben interessante und altersgerechte Bücher zum Thema Diversität und Vielfalt für unsere Schulbibliothek bestellt.

5. Schulfeste

Wir feiern die sprachliche und kulturelle Vielfalt unserer Schule bei Schulfesten und bieten verschiedene Lunch-Highlights an, um die Feiertage anderer Kultur- und Religionskreise kennenzulernen. Dazu finden Sie mehr Informationen hier: https://www.platanus-schule.de/buenos-dias-ni-hao-und-namaste/.

Unsere Ziele

Wir sind eine diverse Schulgemeinschaft mit Menschen unterschiedlicher Herkunft und Prägung. Darauf sind wir stolz! Es ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen, persönliche und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt abzubilden. Wir versuchen, ein Bewusstsein zu schaffen für andere Menschen und ihr Leben, ihren Glauben, ihre Orientierungen und Merkmale. Dabei stellen wir immer wieder fest, dass es meist nur Vorurteile oder Unwissenheit sind, die vermeintliche Andersartigkeit definieren.

Wir wollen allen Schüler*innen Wissen, Selbstbewusstsein und Widerstandsfähigkeit mitgeben, sodass sie den Mut haben, gesellschaftlichen Normen und Ungerechtigkeiten entgegenzutreten und sich in unserer Platanus Gemeinschaft und darüber hinaus wohl, sicher und stark zu fühlen.

Wenn Sie noch Ideen oder Gedanken zu diesem Thema haben, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte. Wir freuen uns über Anregungen.

Frohe Weihnachten 2020 und guten Rutsch!

Liebe kleine und große Kinder, Eltern, Kolleg*innen, Geschäftspartner*innen und Freunde, WAS FÜR EIN JAHR!... mehr

Aktuelle Aktionen und tolle Wettbewerbe

Wir haben trotz der Corona-Pandemie und den damit verbundenen Schwierigkeiten in den letzten Wochen viele tolle ... mehr

Lebendiges und aktives Schulleben trotz Corona!

Die letzten Wochen und Monate waren nicht immer einfach! Trotz aller Widrigkeiten, Umstände und sehr viel ... mehr

Wir sind MINT-freundliche Schule!

Hurra, wir haben es geschafft und unsere Bewerbung für das Signet MINT-freundliche Schule ... mehr
umweltschule in europa Logo

Wir sind Umweltschule in Berlin und Europa!

Eine großartige Nachricht ist, dass wir trotz und wegen der Corona-Pandemie unsere Zertifizierung als ... mehr
Platanus Jubiläum

10 JAHRE-HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Heute ist der 15. Mai 2020 und hätte uns die Corona Pandemie nicht einen gewaltigen Strich durch die Pläne ... mehr
Happy Easter

Herzlichen Dank und Frohe Ostern!

Nach den ersten drei Wochen und der für uns alle völlig neuen Erfahrungen von Schulschließung und Home Schooling... mehr
Platanus School4Earth

Wir sind Pilotschule für „Schools for Earth“

In den letzten Monaten haben wir viel diskutiert und uns informiert, was wir als Schule gemeinsam mit unseren ... mehr

Wir lieben Kino und sind im Berlinale-Fieber!

Vom 21. Februar bis zum 1. März 2020 findet in unserer Stadt die 70. Berlinale statt. Zu diesem Anlass haben wir ... mehr

Neuer Workshop: Künstliche Intelligenz!

„Women in AI“ (WAI) ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der sich weltweit für Gendergerechtigkeit in der ... mehr

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

Am Samstagabend fand wieder unsere großartige Magic Movie Night statt, die jedes Jahr im November von unserem ... mehr

Spanisch-Projekttag: Die 8. Klasse tanzt Salsa!

Unsere Spanischlehrerin aus Argentinien Ms. Gianatelli hatte eine großartige Idee für ihren Projekttag - ... mehr