Buenos Dias, Ciao, Nĭ Hăo und Namasté!

Food and the way people eat are an important part of social and cultural identity all over the world. To find out more, since last year we have been offering traditional meals from different countries and cultures once a month or as lunch in our canteen on certain holidays.

We started in January with a “Burrrito-Day”. On this day there were tortillas with minced meat, soya for the vegetarians and red beans as warm ingredients. Each class also had delicious toppings to add – diced tomatoes and onions, corn, grated cheese and sour cream. The students filled their own burritos, folded them and topped them off with a tasty salsa. Our students were enthusiastic about this delicious Mexican dish and the hand-rolled preparation.

For the Chinese New Year celebration 春節 / 春节 in February, there were tasty dim sums, vegetarian noodles and spring rolls. Peanut and sweet and sour sauce was also on offer. We spoke about the traditions and the spreading of this celebration in east Asia. The art of eating elegantly with chopsticks was also practiced beforehand in the hope that the students would be able to eat their meal in a more authentic way. This endeavour was more or less successful and offered a lot of laughter along the way. The Year of the Dog was celebrated in high spirits.

Last March we celebrated the Indian “Feast of Colours” – the Holi feast. Like many people in India, we enjoyed our food with all our senses. The children authentically ate the Tandoori chicken, vegetable curry and rice by hand. In fact, eating in this way is not so easy and there are many rules that need to be followed.

To return to European culinary, we served Belgian waffles with vanilla sauce and fruit after the Easter holidays.

In May we celebrated American Burger Day with hamburgers and cheeseburgers. Although it is not the healthiest food, it is one of the most popular dishes in the world. As a rare exception, once a year we enjoy a juicy burger with side dishes.

As it is a national holiday and our school is of course closed on German Unification Day, we will celebrate this special and important holiday on 9th of October. This year the menu entices us with a mouth-watering schnitzel and lukewarm potato salad.

As a tribute to the unique, varied and, above all, favourite Italian cuisine, a pizza and a pasta day are in the plans.

Most of all, however, we are looking forward to the beautiful and delicious Christmas season, particularly a Thanksgiving turkey with matching side dishes and a traditional German Christmas dinner at the end of the year.

We are firmly convinced that not only love goes through the stomach, but also tolerance, understanding, openness and curiosity about the big, wide world.

Enjoy your meal!

EXTREME READING COMPETITION

We love books, literature, stories and language so much that nothing in the world can stop us from reading. That's ... more

The “Radical Readers” write reviews!

In July, the prestigious English Children's Book Prize, the Kate Greenaway Medal, is awarded again. This is a ... more

Yeah! 3rd place at the Alba Tournament

Our basketball team made it to the podium! On 11th of May 2019 the final of the Alba Primary School League took... more

Work & Travel Students Exchange Program

As part of our Work & Travel program, this school year saw the third edition of our international exchange program ... more

Our wonderful Christmas Concert 2018

On the evening of December 20th, our festive Christmas concert took place again in the Hoffnungskirche Pankow. ... more

We celebrate Lucia, the Swedish Feast of Lights!

Today in Sweden and in Swedish communities around the world Lucia, the Swedish Festival of Lights, is celebrated.... more
Mann liest mehreren Kindern vor.

Reading Stories in our School Library

The „Bundesweite Vorlesetag“ (Nationwide Readout Day) is a joint initiative of DIE ZEIT, Stiftung Lesen and ... more

Evaluation of our bilingual Program

In the following, we cite: Steinlen, A. & Piske, Th. (2018). Final report for the Platanus School in Berlin: ... more

Project Day: Women in Science

For one day at Platanus everything was about Women's role in scientific and technological developments. Every year... more

Buenos Dias, Ciao, Nĭ Hăo und Namasté!

Ernährung und die Art und Weise wie Menschen essen, stellt überall auf der Welt einen wichtigen Teil der sozialen und kulturellen Identität dar. Um mehr darüber zu erfahren, bieten wir seit letztem Schuljahr einmal monatlich traditionelle Gerichte aus verschiedenen Ländern und Kulturkreisen oder zu bestimmten Festtagen in unserer Mensa als Mittagessen an.

Wir begannen im Januar mit einem „Burrito-Day“. An diesem Tag gab es Tortillas mit Hackfleisch, Soja für die Vegetarier*innen und rote Bohnen als warme Bestandteile. Auf dem Tisch jeder Klasse stand eine Schüssel mit gewürfelten Tomaten und Zwiebeln, Mais sowie geriebenem Käse und saurer Sahne. Die Kinder konnten sich selbst ihre Burritos füllen, zusammenfalten und mit einer kindgerecht gewürzten Salsa abrunden. Unsere Kinder waren begeistert von diesem leckeren mexikanischen Gericht und der handgerollten Zubereitung.

Zum chinesischen Neujahrsfest 春節 / 春节 im Februar gab es leckere Dim Sum, vegetarische Nudeln und Frühlingsrollen, dazu Erdnuss- und Süß-Sauer-Sauce. Mit den Kindern haben wir über die Traditionen und die Verbreitung dieses Festes in Ostasien gesprochen und vorher schon geübt, wie man elegant mit Stäbchen isst. Das gelang dann mehr oder weniger gut, war aber sehr lustig. So feierten wir gut gelaunt das neue Jahr des Erde-Hundes.

Im letzten März haben wir das indische „Fest der Farben“ – das Holi Fest gefeiert. Wie viele Menschen in Indien haben wir unser Essen mit allen Sinnen genossen. Die Kinder haben ganz authentisch das Tandoori Hühnchen, Gemüsecurry und den Reis mit der Hand gegessen. Tatsächlich ist das Essen auf diese Weise nicht so einfach und es gibt viele Regeln, die beachtet werden müssen.

Um kulinarisch nach Europa zurückzukehren, haben wir nach den Osterferien belgische Waffeln mit Vanillesauce und Obst serviert.

Im Mai feierten wir den amerikanischen Burger-Day mit Hamburgern und Cheeseburgern. Obwohl es nicht das gesündeste Essen ist, handelt es sich um eines der beliebtesten Gerichte weltweit. Als seltene Ausnahme einmal im Jahr genießen wir gerne einen saftigen Burger mit Beilagen.

Da es ein staatlicher Feiertag ist und unsere Schule natürlich am Tag der Deutschen Einheit geschlossen ist, werden wir diesen besonderen und wichtigen Feiertag am 9. Oktober feiern. In diesem Jahr gibt es ein feines Schnitzel und lauwarmem Kartoffelsalat.

Geplant sind außerdem ein Pasta- und ein Pizza-Tag als Hommage an die einzigartige, vielfältige und vor allem von Kindern heiß geliebte italienische Küche.

Am meisten freuen wir uns aber auf die schöne und vor allem leckere Weihnachtszeit mit einem Thanksgiving-Truthahn mit den passenden Beilagen und einem traditionellen deutschen Weihnachtsessen zum Ende des Jahres.

Wir sind der festen Überzeugung, dass nicht nur Liebe durch den Magen geht, sondern auch Toleranz, Verständnis, Offenheit und Neugier auf die große, weite Welt.

Guten Appetit!

Well Done! Schöne Sommerferien!

Die letzten Tage vor den Sommerferien sind für uns immer eine sehr besondere Zeit und deswegen berichten wir gerne... mehr

EXTREME READING COMPETITION!

Wir lieben Bücher, Literatur, Geschichten und Sprache so sehr, dass uns einfach nichts auf der Welt vom Lesen ... mehr

Die “Radical Readers” schreiben Rezensionen!

Im Juli findet wieder die Verleihung des prestigeträchtigen, englischen Kinderbuchpreises, die Kate Greenaway ... mehr

Yeah! 3. Platz bei der Alba Grundschulliga

Unser Basketballteam hat es auf das Siegertreppchen geschafft! Am 11. Mai 2019 fand von 13:30 bis 19:00 Uhr das... mehr

Work & Travel Austauschprogramm

Im Rahmen unseres Work & Travel Programms fand bereits zum 3. Mal unser internationales Austauschprogramm statt - ... mehr

Unser wunderschönes Christmas Concert 2018

Am Abend des 20. Dezember fand wieder unser feierliches Weihnachtskonzert in der Pankower Hoffnungskirche statt.... mehr

Wir feiern Lucia, das schwedische Lichterfest!

Heute wird in Schweden und schwedischen Gemeinden außerhalb des Landes Lucia, das schwedische Lichterfest ... mehr
Mann liest mehreren Kindern vor.

Geschichten lesen in unserer Schulbücherei

Der Bundesweite Vorlesetag ist eine gemeinsame Initiative von DIE ZEIT, Stiftung Lesen und Deutsche Bahn Stiftung. ... mehr

Evaluierung unseres bilingualen Programms

Wir zitieren im Folgenden aus: Steinlen, A. & Piske, Th. (2018). Abschlussbericht für die Platanus Schule Berlin: ... mehr