Joana Kappes

Joana Kappes

Head of School Lessons – Years 5 and 6, Subject Teacher Natural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Head of Sciences Department 5-10

Joana Kappes is responsible for the children’s education and the leadership of the teaching team as headmistress in Years 5 and 6.

Joana was born in Portugal and studied Biology, Geology and Education/Didactics in Portugal, Universidade de Aveiro, and in Spain, Universitat de Barcelona and Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Later on, in London, she taught Sciences (Biology, Chemistry and Physics) and was the Deputy Head of the Science Faculty at her school.

In 2013 she moved to Berlin and began teaching at Platanus in 2014. She then also worked as head of the science department, and since then has launched many science initiatives and projects at our school and is responsible for deepening our STEM profile.

Joana enjoys using her creativity to teach science and to inspire students to share her love of science. In her free time she enjoys reading fiction and non-fiction, running, experimenting with art and learning new skills.

back

Joana Kappes

Joana Kappes

Schulleiterin Unterricht – Klassen 5 und 6, Fachlehrerin Naturwissenschaften, Biologie, Chemie, Fachbereichsleiterin Naturwissenschaften 5-10

Joana Kappes ist als Schulleiterin Unterricht für die Kinder und die Leitung des Lehrer*innen Teams in den Klassenstufen 5 und 6 verantwortlich.

Ms. Kappes wurde in Portugal geboren und studierte Biologie, Geologie und Pädagogik/Didaktik in Portugal, an der Universidade de Aveiro, und in Spanien, an der Universitat de Barcelona und an der Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Später unterrichtete sie in London Naturwissenschaften (Biologie, Chemie und Physik) und war stellvertretende Leiterin der wissenschaftlichen Fakultät dieser Schule.

Im Jahr 2013 zog sie nach Berlin und begann 2014 bei Platanus als Lehrerin. Sie arbeitete dann auch als Fachbereichsleiterin für Naturwissenschaften, hat seitdem viele naturwissenschaftliche Initiativen und Projekte unserer Schule auf den Weg gebracht und ist für die Vertiefung unseres MINT-Profils verantwortlich.

Ms. Kappes setzt leidenschaftlich gerne ihre Kreativität für den Unterricht ein und inspiriert damit unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler, ihre Liebe zu den Naturwissenschaften zu teilen. In ihrer Freizeit liest sie Belletristik und Sachbücher, geht gerne laufen, beschäftigt sich eingehend mit Kunst und liebt es, immer wieder Neues zu erlernen.

zurück