Platanus School4Earth

We are Pilot School at “Schools for Earth”

In the last few months, we have discussed much and informed ourselves about what we as a school can do in concrete terms together with the children, young people and you as parents. We have already achieved or are on the way to achieving many projects, such as focusing our teaching on these topics, special project days and concrete concepts. We purchase green electricity from the provider Naturstrom and use only cloth towels, recycled toilet paper and foam soap. Our food supplier Löwenzahn offers a high percentage of regional and seasonal organic products in the side dishes and we only eat meat and fish once a week. We actively practise waste separation and from now on all school classes are responsible for the disposal of plastic waste from the classroom themselves. This will give them an overview of their own waste production and help them to think together about where and how they can reduce that waste. From May/June this year, our windows will be successively replaced throughout the building to ensure better heat and cold insulation, optimised sound insulation and improved ventilation. We have created a cold frame and a compost heap for our organic waste in our schoolyard garden and insect hotels are being built in the Werkstatt AG. All of our paper for printers, copiers and advertising materials have been converted to certified recycled paper and we have set Ecosia as an environmentally friendly search engine by default on all school computers (information at https://www.ecosia.org/). In addition, we’re making climate trees in all classes to showcase our plans and goals for this year and discuss what each individual can do in concrete terms.

However all this was not enough for us and we have been looking for more ideas. This year the organization Greenpeace has launched the nationwide school project “Schools for Earth” for the first time. The goal: at least 100 schools throughout Germany set out on the path to climate neutrality and become a role model for sustainability and climate protection. Greenpeace supports these schools not only in becoming climate-neutral and sustainable places of learning and living, but also at least in the equally important process of enshrining “Education for Sustainable Development” in teaching, school development and organization together with the entire school family.

For this project, Greenpeace has sought out pilot schools that benefit from the project modules developed specifically for “Schools for Earth” and from support services geared to the school world. From many applications from all over Germany, 14 schools have so far been selected whose applications were convincing and which meet all the necessary criteria.

AND WE’RE IN!

As one of four schools from Berlin the Platanus School was chosen as a pilot school. We are very happy about this, are looking forward to working closely with Greenpeace in the pilot phase this school year and possibly in the following one and a half to two years and now have much do.

With the help of Greepeace, we are creating our carbon footprint as a school and can then consider where we can further reduce CO2 (e.g. heating control, solar panels on the roof, optimization of processes and procurement) or how we can offset our carbon footprint (e.g. through tree planting projects or similar).

Together we are laying the foundation for an ambitious nationwide school project that not only makes a relevant contribution to climate protection and sustainability, but also has a positive impact on society with its positive dynamics.

Within this framework, we are also committed to being certified as an “Environmental School in Europe” at the end of this process.

There is much to do. Let’s get started!

umweltschule in europa Logo

Environmental School in Berlin and Europe!

It is great news that despite and because of the Corona pandemic we have received our certification as ... more
Platanus Jubiläum

10 YEARS – HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Today is May 15th, 2020, and if the Corona Pandemic hadn’t thwarted our plans, we would all have celebrated a ... more
Happy Easter

Many Thanks and Happy Easter!

After the first three weeks and the experiences of school closure and home schooling, which were completely new for... more

We love cinema and are in Berlinale Fever!

From February 21st to March 1st 2020 the 70th Berlinale will take place in our city. For this occasion, we are ... more

New Workshop: Artificial Intelligence!

"Women in AI" (WAI) is a non-profit association that works worldwide for gender justice in the research and working... more

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

On Saturday evening, our great Magic Movie Night took place again, which is organized every year in November by our... more

Spanish Project Day: Our 8th Graders dance Salsa!

Our Spanish teacher Ms. Gianatelli from Argentina had a great idea for her project day - focus on Spanish with the ... more

Lantern Festival in the Kindergarten!

In our Platanus Kindergarten in Benjamin-Vogelsdorff-Straße we celebrated a wonderful lantern festival on Friday.... more

Our little ones have the right and healthy bite!

We are pleased that our Platanus Kindergarten has now been officially certified as a "Kita mit Biss" by the Dental ... more

Platanus School4Earth

Wir sind Pilotschule für „Schools for Earth“

In den letzten Monaten haben wir viel diskutiert und uns informiert, was wir als Schule gemeinsam mit unseren Kindern, Jugendlichen und deren Eltern ganz konkret tun können. Dabei haben wir schon viele Vorhaben, wie den Fokus unseres Unterrichts auf diese Themen, spezielle Projekttage und konkrete Konzepte erreicht oder sind auf dem Weg dahin. Wir beziehen Ökostrom von dem Anbieter Naturstrom und nutzen ausschließlich Stoffhandtücher, Recycling-Toilettenpapier und Schaumseife. Unser Essensanbieter Löwenzahn bietet einen hohen Anteil an regionalen und saisonalen Bioprodukten in den Beilagen und wir essen pro Woche nur einmal Fleisch und einmal Fisch. Wir praktizieren aktiv Mülltrennung und ab sofort sind alle Schulklassen für die Entsorgung des Plastikmülls aus dem Klassenraum selbst verantwortlich, um einen Überblick über die eigene Müllproduktion zu bekommen und gemeinsam zu überlegen, wo und wie sie Müll reduzieren können. Ab Mai/Juni diesen Jahres werden sukzessive unsere Fenster im gesamten Gebäude ausgetauscht, um so eine bessere Wärme- und Kältedämmung, optimierten Schallschutz und eine Verbesserung der Lüftung zu gewährleisten. Wir haben in unserem Schulhofgarten ein Frühbeet und einen Komposthaufen für unsere organischen Abfälle angelegt und in der Werkstatt AG werden Insektenhotels gebaut. Unser gesamtes Papier für Drucker, Kopierer und Werbematerialien wurde auf zertifiziertes Recyclingpapier umgestellt und wir haben Ecosia als umweltfreundliche Suchmaschine standardmäßig auf allen Schulrechnern eingestellt (Infos unter https://www.ecosia.org/). Außerdem basteln wir in allen Klassen Klimabäumchen mit unseren Vorhaben und Zielen in diesem Jahr und besprechen, was jede*r Einzelne konkret tun kann.

Das alles genügte uns aber noch nicht und wir haben nach weiteren Ideen gesucht. Die Organisation Greenpeace hat erstmalig in diesem Jahr das deutschlandweite Schulprojekt „Schools for Earth“ ins Leben gerufen. Das Ziel: Mindestens 100 Schulen in ganz Deutschland machen sich auf den Weg zur Klimaneutralität und werden zu einem Vorbild für Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz. Greenpeace unterstützt die Schulen nicht nur dabei, zu klimaneutralen und nachhaltigen Lern- und Lebensorten zu werden, sondern auch beim mindestens ebenso wichtigen Prozess, gemeinsam mit der gesamten Schulfamilie „Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung“ in Lehre, Schulentwicklung und -organisation zu verankern.

Für dieses Vorhaben hat Greenpeace Pilotschulen gesucht, die von den speziell für „Schools for Earth“ entwickelten Projektbausteinen und auf die Schulwelt ausgerichteten Unterstützungsangeboten profitieren. Unter vielen Bewerbungen aus ganz Deutschland wurden bis jetzt 14 Schulen ausgewählt, deren Bewerbung überzeugend war und die alle erforderlichen Kriterien erfüllen.

UND WIR SIND DABEI!

Als eine von vier Schulen aus Berlin wurde die Platanus Schule als Pilotschule ausgewählt. Wir freuen uns über alle Maßen darüber, sind gespannt auf die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Greenpeace in der Pilotphase in diesem Schuljahr und möglicherweise in den folgenden anderthalb bis zwei Jahren und haben nun alle Hände voll zu tun.

Mithilfe von Greenpeace erstellen wir unsere CO2-Bilanz als Schule und werden dann überlegen, an welcher Stelle wir noch weiter CO2 reduzieren können (z.B. Heizungssteuerung, Solaranlage auf dem Dach, Optimierung von Prozessen und Beschaffungen) bzw. wie wir unseren CO2-Fußabdruck ausgleichen können (z.B. über Baumpflanzprojekte o.ä.).

Gemeinsam legen wir den Grundstein für ein bundesweites, ambitioniertes Schulprojekt, das nicht nur einen relevanten Beitrag zu Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit leistet, sondern mit seiner positiven Dynamik auch in die Gesellschaft wirkt.

In dem Rahmen engagieren wir uns ebenfalls dahingehend, am Ende dieses Prozesses als „Umweltschule in Europa“ zertifiziert zu werden.

Es gibt viel zu tun. Los geht’s!

umweltschule in europa Logo

Wir sind Umweltschule in Berlin und Europa!

Eine großartige Nachricht ist, dass wir trotz und wegen der Corona-Pandemie unsere Zertifizierung als ... mehr
Platanus Jubiläum

10 JAHRE-HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLATANUS!

Heute ist der 15. Mai 2020 und hätte uns die Corona Pandemie nicht einen gewaltigen Strich durch die Pläne ... mehr
Happy Easter

Herzlichen Dank und Frohe Ostern!

Nach den ersten drei Wochen und der für uns alle völlig neuen Erfahrungen von Schulschließung und Home Schooling... mehr

Wir lieben Kino und sind im Berlinale-Fieber!

Vom 21. Februar bis zum 1. März 2020 findet in unserer Stadt die 70. Berlinale statt. Zu diesem Anlass haben wir ... mehr

Neuer Workshop: Künstliche Intelligenz!

„Women in AI“ (WAI) ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der sich weltweit für Gendergerechtigkeit in der ... mehr

Magic Movies! Disco Dancing! Great Photos!

Am Samstagabend fand wieder unsere großartige Magic Movie Night statt, die jedes Jahr im November von unserem ... mehr

Spanisch-Projekttag: Die 8. Klasse tanzt Salsa!

Unsere Spanischlehrerin aus Argentinien Ms. Gianatelli hatte eine großartige Idee für ihren Projekttag - ... mehr

Laternenfest im Platanus Kindergarten!

In unserem Platanus Kindergarten in der Benjamin-Vogelsdorff-Straße haben wir am Freitag ein wunderschönes ... mehr

Unsere Kleinen haben den richtigen Biss!

Wir freuen uns, dass unser Platanus Kindergarten nun auch ganz offiziell vom Zahnärztlichen Dienst Berlin als ... mehr